And In These Moments

My dog has an unreciprocated love affair with butterfly shadows.

They dance.

They tease.

Then, in front of his very eyes-

They vanish.

Even when the true butterfly settles in front of him-

Or darts in front of his nose-

He remains true always to the shadow.

While a fine connoisseur of shadows, myself-

I hope that I am never too focused-

To look up from the ground-

And see the moment the wing of a butterfly-

Catches the sideways slant of a sunbeam.

IMG_0004A lover of water and shadows


While not as charming as my dog, I have some shadows and water in my fantasy novel, The Guests of Honor. It is available here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

