I Build Myself With Every Step

Today is a bittersweet anniversary for me and so I thought about a recent comment I saw about age and writing. I am not that much past thirty, but I think that the importance of experience is often sidestepped when we talk about age.

As a not at all comprehensive list, by the time I was thirty I had:

climbed a mountain, been pushed from a high place and survived, had a machine gun aimed at me, fallen in love, had my heart broken, broke a heart, learned to make triple chocolate delight, forgotten how to make triple chocolate delight, survived a near-fatal illness, gotten trapped with a kite in a place where no one spoke any of the languages that I knew, received a permanent scar from a turkey, lost the man I called “Father”, learned to dance, lost friends, gained friends, built a snow fort, saved someone else from assault, sang my grandmother into death, learned to laugh, learned not to laugh at the hurt of others, lost a dream, built a thousand others

Survived. Survived. Survived.

I’m still here and everyday I’m learning.

I could ask for nothing else.

IMG_0206I like the road ahead of me and am proud of the road behind


For the less introspective side of my writing, I have also written a fantasy novel, The Guests of Honor. It is available here.

 

7 thoughts on “I Build Myself With Every Step

    • Thank you! I’ve had to have it knocked into my head a few times, but eventually I have figured out the way I want to live. I’m glad that it appeals to you as well.

  1. Our experiences in life shape us and It wasn’t until recently that i agreed with the statement that wisdom came with age; I saw a lot of old people do a lot of dumb things. Now I see the value of the good and bad experiences and how we learn and draw from these.

    • For myself, I look on life as a work-in-progress where I am constantly learning and revising as I experience the world around me. I think it is very hard to draw a picture of the world without having some experiences to fill in the colours and the shading.

      That is not to say that all life experiences need to be dramatic! I think that it is very hard to walk through life without being touched by the world around us in some way. But to speak to seeing a lot of old people making dumb decisions- I think that you can be given the lesson, but you have to be willing to incorporate it into your life for it to matter.

      I am grateful that I have been given so many opportunities to see so many aspects of the world around me. If nothing else, it has given me a rich vein of material to think about for writing!

      • An excellent view on life that took me longer to learn -well said. You can try and write how Turkish tea tastes from an armchair, but if you’ve actually sat in a cafe in Istanbul and drank the tea, the writing is far more richer from this experience. 🙂

  2. What a lovely post! You’ve certainly had lots of intense experiences! For myself, I hope those “interesting times” the Chinese curse speaks of will leave me be for a bit!

    • Thank you! I sometimes think that I was born under a particularly intense version of that Chinese curse. However, I am grateful for everything that I have had the opportunity to experience and share. My life has been enriched by my experiences, both positive and negative.

      Sometimes it would be nice to have a breather though. 🙂

      I hope that you also get a moment of pause here.

Leave a Reply

