A Tale of Bones and Magic

What is a fairytale?

As a child, you could not pry me away from the folklore section of our local library. Every collection of world mythology or folktales I could find, I devoured.

Ironically, I was much less interested in the stories labeled as fairytales than I was in the many other stories from around the world.

It has been an interesting circle for me to find myself writing something that is described as an adult fairytale.

It has no fairies, no elves, no vampires, no princesses.

There is no profound moral message, no easy vengeance or reward.

The magic does not take its core from Northern European stories.

But there is something, in the story or the telling, that makes people feel as if they are reading a modern fable.

In the end, like so much else of what I discuss here, I think the perception is rooted in the magic.

There is a sense of discovery in those fairy stories. Even as terrible and grim as the bones of most of those cautionary tales were, there was also a keen and present sense of adventure, of the fantastic waiting just beyond our mundane existence.

I would like to hope that some piece of both magic and terror lives within the story I have tried to tell.

What is a fairytale?

A story that speaks to our internal child, even as it reminds the adult of the wolf at the door.

IMG_0365Through what strange woods have we traveled, for a story half-forgotten?


If you are interested in seeing “The Guests of Honor”, my US Kindle Countdown promotion is here. If you are in the UK, my Kindle Countdown promotion is here.

I’d also like to point out Ebooksoda if you are interested in receiving updates on books that are on sale in specific genres. I’m doing some advertising with them tomorrow and I’ve been super impressed with the content curation that they do in the genres I’m interested in (Fantasy and YA).

 

5 thoughts on “A Tale of Bones and Magic

    • I think that is a great definition. There is so much lurking under the hood in fairytales, both metaphorically and literally. I do think that the fairytales that send that chill up the back of my spine carry not only the bleak hopelessness of some of the darker stories, but the throat-catching beauty of something like “Tam Lin” or “East of the Sun, West of the Moon”. Some of the descriptions in those stories still make me shiver when I read them.

      • I never read fairytales as a child, but my nan would tell me stories that were both beautiful and scary. I haven’t read either of the books you mentioned I will hunt them down.

Leave a Reply

