The Third Riddle

What could I contain that you would value?

Sun-touched, wind-worn, I hold only what you allow

Whether I am a good neighbour or a poor one

Hinges entirely on your stake in my wellbeing

My path may be circumscribed

But I am too self-contained to care for the wider world

My passage marked only by those who seek to overcome me

IMG_0585Who am I?

This is a week of small riddles and puzzles. See if you can solve them! Hat tip to Xina Marie whose Anglo-Saxon riddle songs inspired me to try my own hand at them.


For more neighbours, good or otherwise, you can read my fantasy novel, The Guests of Honor. It is available here.

6 thoughts on “The Third Riddle

    • You are absolutely right. Although as my proofreader pointed out, “gate” would probably work as well. This one was based on a series of puns and an indirect reference to Frost’s poem. So far you are at 100% accuracy! I have to say, I am very impressed.

Leave a Reply

