The Middle of Nowhere

I grew up in quiet places.

While I have lived in cities and towns and small basement apartments with coaster-sized spiders, I am most comfortable and most happy where I can hear myself think.

There is something that sparks the current of creative electricity when I am miles from other voices, other stresses.

The smell of rotting wood, the soft buzz of small insects and muted bird calls, the press and scratch of deep moss against my ankles and my hands-

My head is clearest here.

In these spaces, I can slow down the thousand miles my brain travels every minute.

I can pull out the individual strands of colour and thought, rearrange them into something new and strange.

I am inspired by the sensation of the sun as a tangible hand stretching through the trees.

I am inspired by the opposite of the sound of a slamming door and footsteps retreating down the stairs into the night.

IMG_9169There is a unity in silence, a knowledge in an endless sky

This is a week about inspirations, both obvious and otherwise.


For the thoughts inspired by the silence, you can read my fantasy novel, The Guests of Honor. It is available here.

 

3 thoughts on “The Middle of Nowhere

  1. I live in a big city and sometimes I wish I could get away from it all more often. It would be nice to experience true peace and quiet once in a while. Great post. It reminded me of happy times in quieter places. πŸ™‚

    • I enjoyed my time living in larger cities, but I really am someone who lives better with peace and quiet. I’m very glad that the post brought back some pleasant memories of places of joy and silence. I think that there’s something to being somewhere without stressful white noise that really helps to clean a lot of the garbage out of our heads. I hope that you get an opportunity to visit somewhere that is both lovely and quiet. πŸ™‚

  2. I haven’t always lived in the city. I grew up on a housing estate on the edge of a town. But I was really only a short walk from the countryside which we lived on the edge of. So it was lovely to get out and about for walks with our dog. I miss it – but funnily enough only when I stop and think about it. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

