Grasping the Sun

In the long barren land between the forest and the settled places,

In a landscape memorial to  thwarted dreams and ambitions,

(Left as empty as the developer’s wallet)

Small things grow.

A patch of clover peeks above the burn scar,

An alder and an elderberry twine in stunted harmony,

But

Above them all,

Careless of poor soil and bitter winds,

A lone sunflower

Knows nothing of caution

Knows only to reach upwards

Always closer to its eventual

Grasping of the sun.

IMG_9991Ambition, bright and beautiful

I have a deep admiration for persistence in the face of impossible goals.


For more persistence, impossible and otherwise, my fantasy novel, The Guests of Honor, is available here. Its sequel, With Honor Intact, can be found here.

4 thoughts on “Grasping the Sun

    • It’s on track for a late fall release. I am so excited about putting it out since it has been a joy to write. I very much appreciate your patience and hope that you have as much fun in the reading as I have had in the writing!

  1. “I have a deep admiration for persistence in the face of impossible goals.”

    I do as well. It seems like life has too often been one tremendous slog after another.

    Love the photo – did you take it?

    • I find it has been deeply comforting to me when I am slogging through something that seems impossible to look at the things that appear impossible in the world around me- and persist anyways.

      I’m delighted that you enjoyed the photo. I thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful pictures that you took on your journey. This one is one of mine. I’ve been having a lot of fun playing around with framing, light, and perspective.

Leave a Reply

