Interface

In a former life, I wound up stranded by a broken bus on the side of a small road in Mexico.

One thing led to another and I found myself up to my elbows in soapy water, washing dishes beside a giant saguaro cactus.

I can still feel the slight breeze and smell that soap.

We were uneasy companions, the saguaro and I.

I’ve never forgotten the sharpness of our meeting – both literal and metaphorical.

It made me aware of the edges of our worlds, the small bubbles we wrap around ourselves in our daily life.

That cactus pricked the edge of my bubble, let the outside world bleed inwards.

A good story works in the opposite direction – expands our interface, edges our bubble slowly outwards into the world.

I am drawn to those edges, where our different unfamiliarities join and overlap.

Where we share the things that are familiar to us and make them understandable to those we meet.

Boundaries are not always as clearly drawn, as distinct as those between myself and the edge of a cactus.

But few things speak as deeply and clearly as a finely-defined edge.

As a curious piece of life pushing upwards into the sky.

IMG_1560The joining of the manmade and the natural is one of my favourite points of connection

Our ability to recognize interfaces and bend through and around them has always fascinated me.


I enjoy exploring points of friction and connection. If you’d like to see more of those points, they can be found in my fantasy novel,The Guests of Honor. It is available here. The sequel, With Honor Intact, will be coming out on April 23, 2015.

Leave a Reply

